Ani Chakravarty honored for marketing strategy research

American Marketing Association award goes to early-career academics

Merritt Melancon | Jun. 15, 2020

Ani Chrakravarty

Since joining the faculty of the University Georgia Terry College of Business 10 years ago, Anindita Chakravarty has built a reputation as an expert in digital marketing and marketing performance metrics.

This year, the American Marketing Association recognized her work with the Varadarajan Award for Early Career Contributions to Marketing Strategy Research — a top award for early career academics in marketing.

“I am thrilled that Professor Chakravarty received the 2020 Varadarajan Award,” said Charlotte Mason, the C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry Chair of Business Administration and head of the Marketing Department. “It is a fitting testament to her excellent research record and thought leadership in the marketing strategy area. She joins a set of past winners who have gone on to become the leading senior scholars in the field.”

Her paper “Analyst Earning Forecasts and Advertising and R&D Budgets: Role of Agency Theoretic Monitoring and Bonding Costs,” won the AMA’s 2017 Lehmann Award, which recognizes the best dissertation-based research paper published in the Journal of Marketing or the Journal of Marketing Research.

That study analyzed how security analysts’ projections impacted CEO decision-making in terms of spending on marketing and the development of new products. 

Her latest work focuses on the outcomes of mergers based on each company’s capacity for innovation. Another focuses on the role of emotion in the effectiveness of digital marketing.

In addition to her research, Chakravarty teaches a Ph.D. seminar on building empirical models in marketing research and an undergraduate capstone class in marketing strategy.

Now an associate professor, Chakravarty joined Terry’s marketing faculty in 2010 after earning her Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University’s Smeal College of Business.

The Varadarajan Award is presented annually by the AMA’s Marketing Strategy Special Interest Group. Criteria for the award include the nominee’s research quality and quantity, leadership and impact on marketing strategy research and practice. The AMA established the award to honor the achievements of Rajan Varadarajan, the Ford Chair in Marketing and E-Commerce at Texas A&M University’s Mays Business School.